New European League Official, Teams Announced

Riot Games announced today that the EU LCS will now be known as the League of Legends European Championship (LEC).

Popular organisation Origen will return to appear in this league thanks to a partnership with RFRSH, the company who owns Astralis. SK Gaming will also return to the top European competition.

Rogue and exceL have entered the league and will compete at the top level for the first time. Both teams are owned in part by investment companies.

The LCS teams from last season who won’t feature in the new league are Giants Gaming, H2k-Gaming, Team ROCCAT and Unicorns of Love.

The full list of LEC teams:

  • exceL eSports
  • FC Schalke 04
  • Fnatic
  • G2 Esports
  • Misfits Gaming
  • Origen
  • Rogue
  • SK Gaming
  • Splyce
  • Team Vitality

The league will follow a franchise model similar to the NA LCS. Specific details regarding the format of the league are not known at this time.